Churches open for holidays

Churches open for holidays

The summer monuments opening program, fruit of the collaboration of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism with the Diocese, includes as an innovation this year the extension of the period of cultural visits to the religious heritage of the province of Segovia

From next Tuesday, July 14 and, as a novelty this year, until September 13 in all the offer, churches, hermitages and other temples of the province open for holidays; that is to say, those with monumental value that the Diocese of Segovia and the Ministry of Culture and Tourism have incorporated this year to the Program of Opening of Monuments in Summer through 'routes' or proposals such as 'Mudéjar to the south of the Duero' will be visited, 'Camino de Madrid', 'Románico Sur', 'Valle del Duero' and Segovia a World Heritage City.

For the first time, the opening season has been unified, which means that there will be 17 more days to enjoy this cultural offer in 69% of the cases and discover monuments that are not usually visited or are under limited conditions.

The opening hours will be from 11 am to 14 pm and from 17 pm to 19,45 pm.

This improvement introduced represents an increase of 22,83 in the program budget compared to last year, approaching half a million euros in the Autonomous Community as a whole.

The Deputy Minister of Culture, Raúl Fernández Sobrino, presented the program for all of Castilla y León last Friday at the church of San Juan de Rabanera in Soria and stressed then that it allows "linking the historical-artistic heritage to tourism, bringing culture closer to visitors and tourists, while promoting rural development, generating economic and tourist activity ”.

It is also a program that the Board sets as an example of public-private collaboration work and institutional coordination between administrations, the autonomous administration offering organizational and promotional support.

Most of the temples that can be visited thanks to the program are located in rural areas, although the churches of San Millán, Seminario, San Miguel and San have been included in the thematic proposal World Heritage Cities. Martín from the Segovian capital.

With the theme 'Mudéjar to the south of the Duero' the offer includes the churches of San Andrés, San Miguel and San Esteban and the Magdalena chapel, in the town of Cuéllar. The last one, by the Cuellarano City Council. On this same 'route' are the church of San Esteban de Nieva, that of Nuestra Señora de la Soterraña in Santa María la Real de Nieva, that of San Bartolomé in Sangarcía and that of San Baudilio in Samboal.

The Camino de Madrid (to Santiago de Compostela through the province) includes the church of Santa María la Mayor de Coca, that of the Assumption in Martín Muñoz de las Posadas and that of Nuestra Señora del Rosario in La Granja.

The widest offer is that of the Romanesque South, with churches or hermitages of more than thirty municipalities, some with great heritage and a larger population than the rest, such as Turégano, Sepúlveda, Riaza and Ayllón and others located in small towns such as Sotosalbos, Pelayos from Arroyo, La Cuesta, Becerril, Villacorta, Duratón, Duruelo or Aldealengua de Pedraza, as well as Madriguera, in the area of ​​the 'red' towns, due to the color of the stone of their homes, or El Muyo, one of the towns 'blacks' from the Sierra de Ayllón.

In the Douro Valley, the must-sees are the churches of Sacramenia, Cuevas de Provanco, Fuentidueña, Aldeasoña, Laguna Contreras and Fuentesoto.

Source: The Adelantado de Segovia

12 1kama Sotosalbos Church KAM1665 696x464