The Dehesa (Cerezo de Abajo)

The Dehesa (Cerezo de Abajo)

Information: Rebollar next to the arroyo del Garganta.

Access Mode: On a paved forest road indicated at the exit of the village

Distance to the nearest town: 1 km

Number of tables: 58

Number of sources: 5

Services: Information panels, swimming pool, bar, kiosk, toilets, parking, fenced playground with sandpit and lighting, sports facilities (volleyball field on sand and basketball baskets on meadow). Hiking routes (long distance itinerary GR 88).

NOTE: The bar, kiosk and pools open in summer. Entrance to the area is charged in summer months.

Points of interest:

  • Bercimuel: church of santo Tomás Apostle, of Romanesque time.
  • Valleruela de Pedraza: Church of San Cristóbal, temple of Romanesque origin.
  • Villar de Sobrepeña: caves "Las Angostillas" and "Las Entraderas" in the Natural Park of the Hoces del Río Duratón.
  • Matabuena: parish church of San Bartolomé with Romanesque portal.
  • Valdesimonte: church of Our Lady of the Assumption, apse of the Romanesque period. Hermitage of San Roque in ruins.
  • Castroserna de Arriba: ruins of the palace of the marquises of Castroserna and counts of Adanero. Church of Our Lady of the Rosary, Romanesque work of the s. XIII, polychrome cover, with archivolts and poly-lobed arches of Muslim inspiration. Cuevas del Horcajo.
  • I paid: on the route of the red villages. Church of San Pedro, of Romanesque origin.
  • Fresno de la Fuente: source of transition from Romanesque to Gothic, with a pentagonal floor covered with a half-barrel vault. Bridge made in stone masonry. Church of San Miguel, remains of the Romanesque period.
  • Castroserna de Abajo: archaeological site of the Neolithic. Remains of a Roman road and a bridge of the s. XVIII. Church of San Miguel Arcángel, with remains of Romanesque period. Hermitage of Ntra. Sra. De los Remedios. Caves of Castroserna.
  • San Pedro de Gaíllos: church of San Pedro Apóstol, remodeled in Baroque period but with Romanesque elements like the lateral portico inspired by that of the church of Duratón.
  • Grajera: obelisk called "La Picota", limestone, where the trials of the Inquisition were celebrated. Museum of farming tools and horse riding.
  • Bunkers: Church of San Miguel, Romanesque s. XIII.
  • Turrubuelo: church of Santo Domingo de Silos, very transformed over the centuries, although still with some Romanesque parts.
  • Riofrío de Riaza: Hayedo de la Pedrosa. Church of San Miguel Arcángel, of Romanesque origin.
  • Sepúlveda: Villa of medieval layout in its streets, arcades and squares, remains of its walls "Puerta de la fuerza". Church of San Salvador, Romanesque s. XI. Church of Saints Justo and Pastor, Romanesque. Church of Our Lady of La Peña, Romanesque, s. XII. Church of San Bartolomé, Romanesque, s. XII-XI. House of the Natural Park of the Hoces del Río Duratón in the church of Santiago, with anthropomorphic tombs carved into the rock. Pilgrimage in October to the hermitage of San Frutos, declared a Historic-Artistic Monument.
  • Prádena: important acebal. Cueva de Los Enebralejos, archeology and nature classrooms. Archaeological remains from different eras, Neolithic burial "Las Grajas".
  • Boceguillas: "White Bridge" from the Romanesque period. Church of Our Lady of the Rosary. Remains of Roman Villa. Interpretation center of popular architecture.
  • Tejadilla: Church of San Cristóbal de Valleruela de Pedraza, from the Romanesque period.
  • Riaza: Villa Serrana, porticoed main square, with origins of the s. X. Church of San Juan, stone cross of 1553. Church of Ntra. Sra. Del Manto, s. XV-XVI. Church of Barahona. Surroundings: Sanctuary of Hontanares to 6 km of Riaza. Pilgrimage of Hontanares, first Sunday of May. La Pinilla winter season.
  • Duraton: Romanesque church of Duratón.
  • Hair: sculpture of the Serna Virgin of the Romanesque period in the church of Ntra. Sra. de la Serna.
  • Casla: Caves of the Mesilla and the Rachón. Remains of the Chalcolithic period. Encinar de Casla.
  • Santa Marta del Cerro: Romanesque church of Virgen de Arahuetes. Remains of tombs on rocks in the hermitage of San Cristóbal.
  • Perorrubio: Church of San Pedro Advíncula, declared a Historic Artistic Monument. Medieval castle of Castilnovo, Mudejar work of the s. XIV and XV.
  • Sigueruelo: church of San Sebastián, silver processional cross of the s. XVI, rococo incense burner of the XVIII. Cuevas del Ranchón.
  • Sotillo: Church of the Nativity of the Virgin, Romanesque, inspired by the church of Duratón.
  • Castillejo de Mesleón: remains of medieval castle. Church of Our Lady of the Assumption, Romanesque style.
  • I follow: Church of San Martín de Tours, of Romanesque origin. Hermitage of Ntra. Sra. De Vargas, Romanesque style.
  • Duruelo: Church of the Nativity of Ntra. Sra., Romanesque apse, Renaissance portal, bulrush of the s. XVII. Retablo mayor of Renaissance style. Ruins of the hermitage of San Roque.
  • Cherry Tree Above: Church of San Juan Bautista, Romanesque s. XIII, with Renaissance cover. Hermitages of San Benito, San Roque and Cerezuelo. Pilgrimage to the hermitage of San Benito in July.
  • Cherry tree below: Cherry grove below. Church of San Román, Romanesque portal, with double-tailed mermaids and lions facing on their capitals.